Skip to primary navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Board of Directors

Alaska's Inter-Island Ferry Board of Directors

The next Board of Director Meeting will be announced, and you will be able to Click Here for Agenda. Meeting will be held at Craig City Hall and via teleconference. If you are interested in participating in the meeting by teleconference, call 800-315-6338 and then enter 04848 followed by the # sign.

History and Governance

The Inter-Island Ferry Authority (IFA) was formed in 1997 to respond to the need for improved transportation to island communities in southern Southeast Alaska. The Prince of Wales Communities of Craig, Klawock, Thorne Bay and Coffman Cove joined in a coalition with Wrangell and Petersburg to create the IFA, which is a public corporation organized under Alaska’s Municipal Port Authority Act. Hydaburg joined the Board in 2010. Petersburg withdrew from the Board in 2012. Wrangell withdrew from the Board in 2020.

The IFA development plan included both the Hollis-Ketchikan (Southern Route) and Coffman Cove-Wrangell-Petersburg (Northern Route) passenger/vehicle ferry routes. The IFA received support for both routes from the Alaska Department of Transportation in 1998. Alaska’s Congressional Delegation secured funding for the two planned IFA vessels. The M/V Prince of Wales inaugurated daily scheduled round-trip service between Hollis and Ketchikan in January 2002. A sister vessel, the M/V Stikine provided daily service, during the summer seasons, between Coffman Cove, Wrangell and Petersburg from May of 2006 through September of 2008. Budgetary concerns resulted in the suspension of the Northern Route until further notice so the M/V Stikine is the primary vessel running and the M/V Prince of Wales is used when the M/V Stikine is in dry dock.

The IFA is governed by a Board of Directors who are appointed by the member communities. The Board meets quarterly, with many directors and members of the public tuning in via teleconference. The board members are appointed by their respective member community and serve a term of 4 years.


Inter-Island Ferry Authority Board of Directors

Current Meeting Materials & Approved Minutes