Board of Directors

The next Regular Board of Director Meeting will be announced and is located at Craig City Hall or by teleconference. You will be able to Click Here for Agenda when available.

History and Governance

The Inter-Island Ferry Authority (IFA) was formed in 1997 to respond to the need for improved transportation to island communities in southern Southeast Alaska. The Prince of Wales Communities of Craig, Klawock, Thorne Bay and Coffman Cove joined in a coalition with Wrangell and Petersburg to create the IFA, which is a public corporation organized under Alaska’s Municipal Port Authority Act. Hydaburg joined the Board in 2010. Petersburg withdrew from the Board in 2012.

The IFA development plan included both the Hollis-Ketchikan (Southern Route) and Coffman Cove-Wrangell-Petersburg (Northern Route) passenger/vehicle ferry routes. The IFA received support for both routes from the Alaska Department of Transportation in 1998. Alaska’s Congressional Delegation secured funding for the two planned IFA vessels. The M/V Prince of Wales inaugurated daily scheduled round-trip service between Hollis and Ketchikan in January 2002. A sister vessel, the M/V Stikine provided daily service, during the summer seasons, between Coffman Cove, Wrangell and Petersburg from May of 2006 through September of 2008. Budgetary concerns resulted in the suspension of the Northern Route until further notice so the M/V Stikine is the primary vessel running and the M/V Prince of Wales is used when the M/V Stikine is in dry dock.

The IFA is governed by a Board of Directors who are appointed by the member communities. The seven-member board meets quarterly, with many directors and members of the public tuning in via teleconference. The board members are appointed by their respective member community and serve a term of 4 years.

Inter-Island Ferry Authority Board of Directors

Harvey McDonald; Chair [email protected]
Jeff Nickerson; Vice Chair [email protected]
D J Otis Gibbons; Treasurer/Secretary [email protected] 
Patty Gilbert; Director  [email protected]
Anthony Christianson; Director [email protected]   
Adelia (DeeDee) Jeffreys; Director [email protected]
Brian Wilson; Director [email protected]

See current BYLAWS of the Inter-Island Ferry Authority Board of Directors.

Download and view agendas and minutes

Meeting Date Minutes
February 11, 2014 Minutes PDF
November 12, 2013 Minutes PDF
November 12, 2013 Minutes PDF
October 14, 2013 Minutes PDF
August 28, 2013 Minutes PDF
July 30, 2013 Minutes PDF
June 11, 2013 Minutes PDF
May 2, 2013 Minutes PDF
February 12, 2013 Minutes PDF
January 24, 2013 Minutes PDF
November 19, 2012 Minutes PDF
August 14, 2012 Minutes PDF
July 16, 2012 Minutes PDF
June 28, 2012 Minutes PDF
May 1, 2012 Minutes PDF
April 17, 2012 Minutes PDF
January 27, 2012 Minutes PDF
January 13, 2012 Minutes PDF
December 20, 2011 Minutes PDF
October 26, 2011 Minutes PDF
1 2 3